killobasketball.blogg.se

Hack macbook pro docking station
Hack macbook pro docking station










While the MBP that I have has four USB-C ports, it’s nice to not take them all up with different connections, especially if you want to have the easy ability to unplug and get on the go easily.

#Hack macbook pro docking station pro#

Reason #1 – Uses only one USB-C port on my MacBook Pro This is what drives my XX reasons why the HyperDrive is my favorite USB-C docking station. So, why is this important to a USB-C docking station like the HyperDrive 12-Port USB-C hub? With this device, you have a single USB-C connection plugged into the MacBook, and this handles pretty much everything (including power). And, USB-C can handle other “modes” that are used by monitors and displays, which were previously covered by HDMI, DisplayPort, and VGA, to name just a few.

hack macbook pro docking station

A quick side note here – when shopping for USB-C cables, the USB PD-capable cables will cost a bit more, but you can then use them to power and charge your devices. USB-C handles the USB 3.1 (and higher) standards and, importantly, can deliver power to your devices, known as USB power delivery (USB PD). Not only does it plug in upside down or right side up (I hated that about previous versions of USB – Type A, Micro, Mini, etc.), it also has many other capabilities which will make it the standard moving forward for all types of devices (laptops, desktops, monitors, peripherals, smartphones, and more). More and more devices are adopting it as THE standard for ports.

hack macbook pro docking station

USB Type-C is a pretty magical type of port. So, for the past few months, I have been testing out the HyperDrive 12-Port USB-C Docking Station, and I must say, it is now my favorite hub for multiple functions. To achieve this without a hub would mean I would have hundreds of port connectors and dongles plugged in. But I want to connect to many more peripherals like monitors and hard drives and have a hard-wired ethernet connection. Other MacBooks have even fewer USB-C ports.

hack macbook pro docking station

And, the MBP is physically limited to four USB-C ports. While I love the portability of my Apple MacBook Pro (MBP), the fact that I spend most of my time NOT moving around now and working at my desk means that I want it to be more like a desktop.










Hack macbook pro docking station